The next Hauora Tairawhiti Health Board Election Day will be held in conjunction with the local authority elections on Saturday, 12 October 2019.

The Board consists of up to 11 members, with seven elected by the public, and up to four appointed by the Minister of Health.

Preliminary Results

Hauora Tairawhiti Health Board Election results will be available on Sunday 13 October. They will be published on this web page. 

This is different than the result of the Gisborne District Council election (they will have preliminary results on Saturday 12 October) due to the fact that the Health Board election uses a Single Transferable Vote system. 

The preliminary result will be all votes received except for special votes. The final results will include all votes received including valid special votes. The final results will be released late afternoon Thursday 17 October.


Here is a list of all the nominations received for the Hauora Tairawhiti Board and Gisborne District Council local elections in October.

Any questions contact: Dale Ofsoske, Electoral Officer, Phone 0800 922 822 

Key dates for 2019

12 October | Election day – the end of the voting period 
October to November | Minister of Health elects up to four other members 
17 October | Official Result Declaration
9 December | All newly-appointed and election Board members come into office

 The Single Transferable Voting (STV) system

District health board (DHB) elections use the Single Transferable Vote (STV) system.
Instead of ticking the candidates you want to vote for, voters number the candidates in order of preference. You put a 1 beside the candidate you like best, then a 2 beside your second choice, 3 by your third choice, and so on. You can vote for as many or as few candidates as you like. Candidate names are listed in random order on the voting documents.

Ministry of Health website - DHB Elections 2019: Information for Candidates handbook