Consumer Council

Our Consumer Council partners with our Te Whatu Ora Tairāwhiti District Director and Board as an advisory body. It provides a collective perspective from those who use its services in health services planning, delivery, and evaluation at all levels of the organisation.

The Consumer Council makes sure health consumers are heard by the people making decisions. At Te Whatu Ora Tairāwhiti, we want consumers to have a viable and robust voice in the health services.  

What does the Council do?

The Council works collaboratively to improve the flow of information both to and from Te Whatu Ora Tairāwhiti as an intermediary for the consumers it represents.  

It provides a voice for the community and consumers on health service planning and delivery.

The Consumer Council seeks to enhance consumer engagement and experience through:

  • service integration across the sector
  • the promotion of equity
  • ensuring services are organised and provided to meet the needs of all consumers.

Through effective processes and communications, the Council receives, considers, and disseminates information from and to Te Whatu Ora Tairāwhiti, consumer groups and communities.

The Consumer Council also has a quality improvement role to advise and encourage best practices and innovation.

The Consumer Council members have varied backgrounds and areas of interest within the community, including women's health, men’s health, child health, older person health, disabilities, chronic conditions, mental health, addictions, Māori health, Pacific peoples’ and Asian health.

Meetings are monthly, and members are appointed for a fixed term of 3 years.


Consumer Council Terms of Reference

Click here to view the Terms of Reference document. The document outlines the scope of the Council, its purpose, functions, accountability and membership. For more information about the Consumer Council, please get in touch with Chair Tracy Bacon

Annual Plan

Click here to view the Annual Plan. 

Meet the Consumer Council Team


Top row left to right – Guy Baker, Georgina Johnson, Sarwan Kumar

Middle row left to right– Kay Paku, Tania Downs, Tracy Bacon

Bottom row left to right - Amelia Niuvao-Fine,  Arlouise Brooking

Last modified: